St. Michael Historical Society


The mission of the St, Michael Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history of the City of St. Michael, Minnesota. We welcome and encourage you to be a part of that mission!

A Little About Us

The St. Michael Historical Society began with a meeting of general interest in April of 2005. By July the fifteen incorporating members approved Articles of Incorporation, created Bylaws and elected officers.

Meetings are generally held the second Monday of each month at the St. Michael City Hall; however, please check the "Events" for exact times and locations as they do vary occasionally. Anyone with interest is welcome to attend. The St. Michael Historical Society is a 501(c), nonprofit corporation and a member of the Minnesota Historical Society.


Please join us in collecting, preserving and sharing the history of St. Michael. Members receive quarterly newsletters containing snippets of St. Michael history and information about upcoming events. Individual and family membership dues are just $10 annually, and business membership dues are $25. To become a member, please print the Membership application. and mail it with your dues to the address listed, or call the St. Michael Historical Society at 763-416-7967, or phone City Hall at 763-416-7900, extension 7967 to request more information.

Thanks for visiting, please explore.

St. Michael Historical Society
11800 Town Center Drive
St. Michael, MN 55376 


News & Events!

May 12th, 2014 - Board Meeting - 7:00 PM

You are invited to join us at our next board meeting to be held in the Gries and Lenhardt Public Meeting Room adjacent to the Library in the St. Michael City Hall building at 11800 Town Center Drive, NE. 

April 14th Annual Meeting Election Results

Four members were re-elected to the Board of Directors to serve another three year term. They are: Stephen Barthel, John Jaeb, Wayne Kessler, and Lisa Marx. New member to the Board is Calvin Schoen, also elected to serve a three year term.
The following officers were elected in the subsequent Board Meeting which followed: Sheldon Barthel, President; Stephen Barthel, Vice-President. Appointments: John Jaeb, Treasurer; Calvin Schoen, Secretary; Bob Zahler will take over Newsletter publication. All other appointed positions will remain the same as previous year.

Yorkville Twins.jpg Gindele Book.png

Click here for details on the book written by the Gindele Twins, former residents of St. Michael.